Note to Self: Always Give Credit Where Credit is Due

Recognize the guidance that guides you through the trials of your life. Whether it be a significant person or a major event, acknowledge the power of their presence and teaching. – SC

As I sit here completing yet another Nursing Process Worksheet, I could not help but look back at the 3 years I spent in the Philippines in pursuit of my Bachelor’s degree in Nursing. Now, it did not exactly turn out as I expected it too but so many positive things came out of that experience.

As I sit here in all of my nostalgia, I cannot help but think of the many things studying under the professors in the Philippines had helped me achieve; much of what I was taught by them has helped me in my experience and learning now. From nursing care plans to drug studies, the professors I was able to learn under in the Philippines helped shape me into a model student. For example, I have been commended for the detail of my nursing care plans. Well, I can only humbly say that if it weren’t for my professors in the Philippines and their exceptional teaching, I would not have such great work to reflect what I was taught so well. So, I thank you professors!

Many people like to ask me what it was like studying in a nursing program in the Philippines. Some people like to think that it wasn’t as good as a nursing program here or others like to think that it’s much the same; I would like to think that it were unique in its own ways. Overall, from my own experience, studying in a nursing program in the Philippines was very challenging. We were not given “study guides” to review for exams. Yes, we would have powerpoints, but they were not always given to us ahead of time. We were expected to read way ahead of class/lecture. We took responsibility for everything that we learned and most importantly, our own grades. Learning in the Philippines allowed me to focus on better study habits and critical thinking skills. So, as they say, “Everything happens for a reason”, I would like to believe that studying abroad in the Philippines was to help me learn more about myself as a student and the challenges I could accept, face, and achieve. Nursing isn’t easy and it definitely wasn’t made easy in the Philippines. The challenges there have helped me with the challenges here in a U.S. nursing program; I was better prepared.

My point here was to address my extreme gratitude for the professors that had taught me in the Philippines. Again, thank you so much for all of your guidance in a tough program and career. I am eternally grateful!

Leave a Reply

