Snapchat #2: Layering The Details

I don’t think I have layered outfits better than I did while I was in New York.

There was something about actually putting the time and effort into my outfits there, that I never quite do here in SoCal. Here in SoCal, I can basically go the whole day in some athleisure wear. Sweats, baseball cap, and jacket – call it a day.

Could it be the more laid back atmosphere? Or, could it be the dumbed down weather? I don’t know. I have always liked putting effort into the outfits I choose to wear when I go out, but I guess I definitely pulled off a lot while in New York. From different textures to mixing different colors. It was all very interesting to see that side of me and I got quite a few compliments out of it.

Here’s one of my favorite outfits from my New York trip. Something really casual. And here’s the break down:

Jeans are Forever21 boyfriend jeans from 2-3 years ago
Mustard short turtleneck is from H&M ’14-’15 fall/winter season.
Plaid button up is from the $2 Clothing Store in WeHo.
Levis denim jacket is from Awoke Vintage in Greenpoint, Brooklyn.
Boots are from Nordstrom Rack.
Wool socks are from WalMart.

Other accessories:
Stud earrings from Swarovski.
Calvin Klein messenger from Beacon’s Closet, Brooklyn.

As you can see, when it comes to what I wear it comes from a little bit of everywhere – used, reused, new, etc. At the end of the day, when I dress myself up, it isn’t about the name brand or where I bought it from but how I look and feel in what I buy. It is outfits like these I’ll most likely wear over and over again because I never get tired of the comfort in them, and also because they have no become such nostalgic outfits that stand out to me. I connect it with good memories asides from good comfort and warmth.

With all this and a little reflection, I have decided to return to shopping at thrift stores. I realized it had been a while since I have rummaged through a good rack of used clothes and jackets. My dependence on commercial clothing stores and malls are making my pockets scream “broke”, so I have to maintain “balling on a budget” as I like to call it. I have to stick with brand stores only when I absolutely cannot find something. One store that I may have difficulty cutting ties with is Victoria’s Secret, but other than that, I should be fine!

Any great thrift store recommendations in SoCal – West Hollywood, North Hollywood, and the likes, please let me know! I would love to hear from you readers where your favorite places for thrifting are!

P.S. Since it’s still winter season and all, I was not lying about those wool socks at WalMart. They are so soft and warm, and made for ankle booties and boot cut pants like I have worn above. Trust. Also, do layer sweaters with button ups. You can make outfits casual or formal with them. I think they’re absolutely cute and comfortable ways of layering.

Leave a Reply

